Fifth Framework Programme  

A-B-C- D-E-F- G-H-I- J-K-L- M-N-O- P-Q-R- S-T-U- V-W-X- Y-Z

  • Identification
  • Homepage
  • Institution
  • Observations
  • Identification

    Fifth Framework Programme



    European Commission


    The Fifth Framework Programme (FP5) sets out the priorities for the European Union's research, technological development and demonstration (RTD) activities for the period 1998-2002. These priorities have been selected on the basis of a set of common criteria reflecting the major concerns of increasing industrial competitiveness and the quality of life for European citizens.

    The Fifth Framework Programme has two distinct parts: the European Community (EC) framework programme covering research, technological development and demonstration activities; and the Euratom framework programme covering research and training activities in the nuclear sector.

    FP5 differs considerably from its predecessors. It has been conceived to help solve problems and to respond to the major socio-economic challenges facing Europe. To maximise its impact, it focuses on a limited number of research areas combining technological, industrial, economic, social and cultural aspects. Management procedures have also been streamlined with an emphasis on simplifying procedures and systematically involving key players in research.

    GDPA Online Last Updated 01.Jan.2002 Updated by Webmaster Last Revised 01.Jan.2002 Revised by Webmaster